Southern New Hampshire University Joins ECC as Associate Member in eSports

Southern New Hampshire University Joins ECC as Associate Member in eSports

WEST BABYLON, N.Y. - East Coast Conference (ECC) Commissioner, Dr. Robert Dranoff, announced Thursday that Southern New Hampshire University will join the conference as an associate member in eSports.

SNHU becomes the seventh member of the ECC in eSports, joining full-time league members Daemen College, Long Island University-LIU Post, Mercy College, Molloy College, New York Institute of Technology, and St. Thomas Aquinas College. SNHU will compete with the other league members in the ECC's inaugural season of eSports competition, which begins in February and culminates with the conference's League of Legends Championship on March 30. 

"We are very pleased to have our friends at Southern New Hampshire University coming on board as our first Associate Members for eSports and look forward to working with Vice President [Heather] Lorenz and eSports Director [Tim] Fowler," said Dranoff. "Adding an institution with a great reputation as an innovative leader in academics and athletics is truly exciting for us."  

Dranoff continued by saying, "Our intent with ECC eSports is to provide a great experience for all the students participating beginning this spring when we roll out our first regular season in League of Legends. We believe that the opportunity for those young men and women to represent their schools in league play and to compete for an East Coast Conference title, will help solidify the ECC's spot in collegiate eSports."

"We are thrilled to join the East Coast Conference as an associate member in eSports," said Dr. Heather Lorenz, Southern New Hampshire's Vice President of Student Affairs/Dean. "This is a great opportunity for our student-athletes to compete on a greater stage and membership in the ECC will help bring SNHU's competitive eSports program to the next level. I want to personally thank Dr. Robert Dranoff for granting us this opportunity. We are looking forward to growing our eSports program as an ECC member."

SNHU's Director of eSports, Timothy Fowler, added, "We are very excited to join the East Coast Conference as an associate member for eSports and look forward to the competition this spring. The ECC and its institutions have a long tradition of excellence-athletically, academically, and culturally. It is our hope at SNHU to help grow that tradition and support the success of the ECC."

About the ECC

Founded as the New York Collegiate Athletic Conference in 1989 and rechristened the East Coast Conference in July 2006, the ECC was formed to enhance intercollegiate athletic competition among member institutions and to assist them in integrating athletics into their academic program in a fiscally sound way. The ECC is committed to the highest standards of scholarship, sportsmanship, teamwork, and citizenship. Its mission is to promote the total person concept in its student-athletes, which stresses the abilities to excel in academic achievement, athletic competition, and positive character traits. East Coast Conference members include: University of Bridgeport (Bridgeport, Conn.); University of the District of Columbia (Washington, D.C.); Daemen College (Amherst, N.Y.); LIU Post (Brookville, N.Y.); Mercy College (Dobbs Ferry, N.Y.); Molloy College (Rockville Centre, N.Y.); New York Institute of Technology (Old Westbury, N.Y.); Queens College (Flushing, N.Y.); Roberts Wesleyan College (Rochester, N.Y.) and St. Thomas Aquinas College (Sparkill, N.Y.). Associate Members include: Adelphi University (Garden City, N.Y.); Bloomfield College (Bloomfield, N.J.); Caldwell University (Caldwell, N.J.); Chestnut Hill College (Philadelphia, Pa.); Felician University (Rutherford, N.J.), Georgian Court University (Lakewood, N.J.), Holy Family University (Philadelphia, Pa.), Kutztown University (Kutztown, Pa.), Lincoln University (Lincoln University, Pa.), Lincoln Memorial University (Harrogate, Tenn.), Southern New Hampshire University (Manchester, N.H.), and Wilmington University (New Castle, Del.).

The ECC sponsors the following championship sports: baseball; men's and women's basketball; women's bowling; men's and women's cross country; eSports (co-ed); men's and women's lacrosse; softball; men's and women's tennis; men's and women's indoor track and field; men's and women's outdoor track and field; men's and women's soccer; and women's volleyball.

The East Coast Conference is a proud member of the NCAA and Division II. Division II is a dynamic and engaging group of colleges, institutions and conferences of varying sizes and educational missions. Division II members encourage and support diversity; value sportsmanship, fairness and equity; and place the highest priority on the overall educational excellence of the student-athlete.