Penmen Play in NE10 Championship Game Saturday

SNHU men's ice hockey team watch game from bench.

Southern New Hampshire University (13-9-4, 7-5-3 Northeast-10)
  Saint Anselm College (16-12-2, 10-4-1 Northeast-10)
Saturday, March 2, 2019 - 1:00 pm
Sullivan Arena - Goffstown, N.H.

SNHU Logo Saint Anselm Logo

SERIES: Saint Anselm leads 36-6-1, including 10-1 in post-season
LAST MEETING:  Southern New Hampshire 3, Saint Anselm College 1 (2/16/19- Sullivan Arena, Goffstown, N.H.)

Last Time Out:
 Southern New Hampshire 3, Saint Michael's College 2 (NE10 Semifinals on 2/23/19)

Streak: Won 2

Scoring Leaders:
#10 Brett Strawn, Sr. (9 goals, 13 assists, 22 points)
#7 Jake Cox, Fr. (8 goals, 13 assists, 21 points)
#9 Chris Moquin, Sr. (8 goals, 12 assists, 20 points)
#16 Joe Fiorino, Fr. (3 goals, 14 assists, 17 points)
In Goal: #35 Kurt Gutting, Jr. (10-5-4, 2.35 GAA, .932 save pct.) 

Notes: 2nd ranked SNHU earned a trip to the Championship with a 3-2 win over Saint Michael's College last Saturday at The Ice Den (Hooksett, N.H.).  Freshman Andy Somerville (Medford, Mass.) tied the game at 1-1 in the second period, and freshman Jake Cox (Columbus, Ga.) put the Penmen ahead just two minutes later.  After the Purple Knights made it 2-2, senior Artem Efimov-Barakov (Khimki, Russia) potted the game-winner at 13:55 of the third period.  SNHU went 1-2-0 in its three regular meetings with the Hawks.  SNHU dropped a 5-4 decision at Sullivan Arena on November 9. Senior DJ Goldstein (Wareham, Mass.) scored twice, senior Brett Strawn (Wareham, Mass.) and Somerville scored for the Penmen.   After the Hawks blanked the Penmen 4-0 at The Ice Den on February 15, SNHU responded with a win at Sullivan, 3-1, the next night.  Cox, Goldstein and Somerville scored in the game for SNHU.  Junior Kurt Gutting (Weymouth, Mass.) was named NE10 Goalkeeper of the Year and Sean Walsh was honored as NE10 Coach of the Year.  Strawn was named first-team All-Conference.  The Penmen return to the finals for the first time since winning the school's only NE10 Championship in 2014. 

Last Time Out:
Saint Anselm College 2, Assumption College 1, 3 OT (02/23/19 – Sullivan Arena, Goffstown, N.H.)

Streak: Won 1

Scoring Leaders:
#10 Sean Verrier, Jr. (10 goals, 11 assists, 21 points)
#25 Anthony Iacullo, Fr. (9 goals, 10 assists, 19 points)
#11 Mike Ferraro, Jr.  (14 goals, 5 assists, 19 points)
#18 Bryan Green, Sr. (10 goals, 8 assists, 18 points)
In Goal: #29 Colin Soucy, Sr. (14-11-2, 2.67 GAA, .903 save pct.)

Notes: The top-seeded Hawks needed a triple-overtime win to get past Assumption in the semi-finals last Saturday.  Freshman Anthony Iacullo (Barrington, Ill.) ended the longest overtime contest in Northeast-10 Conference postseason history with a goal at 2:25 into the third overtime period.  The teams were scoreless entering the third period.  Assumption made it 1-0 just 58 seconds into third period on a goal by Matt Damelio.  Saint Anselm drew even on a goal by junior Mike Ferraro at 10:41.  Colin Soucy stopped 56 of 57 shots in the win.  Saint Anselm did not place any members on the NE10 first-team, but had four of six on the second team including Ferraro, Sean Verrier and defensemen David Almeida and Liam O'Sullivan.  The Hawks are in search of their league-leading 11th tournament championship since its formation in 1999-00. Last season, the Hawks won their first NE10 title since the 2014-15 campaign and this is the first battle with the Penmen in the championship game since 2005-06.