Men's Cross Country Finishes Fourth at NE10 Championship; Jocelyn Runs Ninth Overall

Men's Cross Country Finishes Fourth at NE10 Championship; Jocelyn Runs Ninth Overall


When and Where: November 4, 2018 – Hopkinton, N.H. (Hopkinton Fairgrounds) - Distance: 8k
Result: Southern New Hampshire University – 4th/15 (91)

Sophomore Cedric Jocelyn (Nyack, N.Y.) finished ninth overall in a field of 151 student-athletes on Sunday, and the Southern New Hampshire University men's cross country team totaled 91 points to slot in fourth at the 2018 Northeast-10 Conference Men's Cross Country Championship at the Hopkinton, N.H. Fairgrounds. 

Jocelyn, who garnered All-NE10 Second Team accolades for his efforts, clocked an official time of 25:15.80.  He improved on a 19th place finish last year at Stanley Park as a freshman.

Joining Jocelyn with All-Conference recognition are junior Michael Moreno (Houston, Texas) and freshman Ethan Matthews (Ayer, Mass.). Both earned Third Team honors.  Moreno finished 15th in 25:26.77 and Matthews took 18th place at 25:30.97. 

Sophomore Micah Hewitson (New Market, Md.) was the fourth Penmen in the top-25 after his 25:45.15 outing put him at No. 22 overall, two spots better than last year at the NE10s.  Freshman Conner Leone (Southington, Conn.) completed the SNHU top-five in 25:52.99. Freshman Alex Boedeker (Attleboro, Mass.) navigated the course in 26:26.59, freshman Andrew Derry (Keene, N.H.) was next for the Penmen at 26:35.65, and sophomore Jack Ardrey (Milford, Conn.) traversed the terrain in a time of 26:43.55.  Also competing this year were freshman Jacob Logan (Norwood, Mass), who ran 27:24.84, freshman Daniel Frisbee (Waterloo, N.Y.), 28:42.79 and freshman DaMario Brown, who came across in 28:57.98.

- It marks the third time in the past four seasons at least three Penmen received All-Conference accolades at a single NE10 Championship. The first time was at the 2015 race at Saint Michael's College and was repeated last year.
- Leakey Kipkosgei (AIC) captured the individual title for the third consecutive season, finishing ahead of Stonehill's Lucas Taxter and SCSU's Christopher Lebeau.  Southern Connecticut State won it's first team title (50), ahead of Stonehill College (57), American International College (60) and SNHU (91).
- Last season's team leader and record setter Tyler McLaren was among a number of alumni who stopped by to cheer on former teammates.  McLaren ran second in the race last season.

What's Next:
Southern New Hampshire will race next on November 17, when it heads to Bethpage, N.Y. for the 2018 NCAA Division II East Regional.

For the latest on Southern New Hampshire University athletics, follow the Penmen via social media on TwitterFacebookYoutube and Instagram. Sign up to receive text message alerts and e-mail newsletters about your favorite Penmen teams here.